Script to Screen: Comic Con 2017

Script to Screen, hosted by Matt Ryan, was invited to the 2017 Comic Con Convention.

Wonder Woman and Game of Thrones

Matthew Jensen (Director of Photography)


Sarah Wayne Callies (Actress), Josh Holloway (Actor)

 Mr. Mercedes

Jack Bender (Director)

The Tick

Peter Serafinowicz (Actor), Griffin Newman (Actor), Yara Martinez (Actress), Valorie Curry (Actress), Jackie Earle Haley (Actress), David Fury (Executive Producer/Writer)

The Orville

Adrianne Palicki (Actress), Seth MacFarlane (Creator/Executive Producer/Actor), Penny Johnson Jerald (Actress), Halston Sage (Actress), Peter Macon (Actor), Chad L. Coleman (Actor), Mark Jackson (Actor)

Star Trek

Nichelle Nichols (Actress)

The Wolfman and Game of Thrones

Derek Spears (Visual Effects)


Matthew Ryan, Pollock Theater Director

Matthew Ryan is Director of the Pollock Theater where he pioneered the Pollock Theater Internship, which professionalizes students by developing production skills with hands-on experience. Ryan created and hosts the Script to Screen series, which has welcomed prestigious guests like Oscar® winning screenwriter John Ridley for 12 Years a Slave and Oscar® winning screenwriter Alan Ball for American Beauty.

Matthew Ryan began his career as a video librarian at the legendary Kaufman Astoria Studios. He became Associate Producer for Fox Movietone Newsreels putting together video packages for news stories. As Events Manager at New York University’s Cantor Film Center, he produced a series of film programs that included evenings with Martin Scorsese, Tim Robbins and Alec Baldwin. In 2008, he received an MFA in Screenwriting from Loyola Marymount University. His primary writing focus is science fiction and comedy.

UCSB Script to Screen is sponsored by the department of Film and Media Studies, The Carsey-Wolf Center, and The Scott Frank Fund for Screenwriting. It is hosted and executive-produced by the Pollock Theater Director, Matt Ryan, and produced by the Pollock Theater student staff.