Script to Screen on the Red Carpet: 2016 DGA & WGA

UCSB Script to Screen, hosted by Matt Ryan, was invited to the 2016 Directors Guild Awards, Writers Guild Awards and the Oscar Wilde Awards to interview amazing talent. The talent included many Academy Award® Nominees and Winners, and as a special bonus, the cast and crew from Star Wars: The Force Awakens.

Jeffrey Tambor (Actor, Transparent)

Vince Gilligan & Peter Gould (Writers/Creators of Better Call Saul; WGA Winners for Best Episodic Drama – Better Call Saul – “Uno”)

Bob Odenkirk (Actor, Better Call Saul)

Paris Barclay (DGA President)

Adam McKay (Director, The Big Short; WGA Winner for Best Adapted Screenplay, Academy Award® Winner for Best Adapted Screenplay, DGA Nominee for Best Feature & Academy Award® Nominee for Best Director)

David Kouchner (Actor, Anchorman)

Carl Gottlieb (Writer, Jaws & The Jerk)

Moira Wallet-Beckett (Creator of Flesh and Bone; WGA Nominee for Best Original Long Form)

Marta Kauffman (Creator of Friends)

Maryann Brandon and Mary Jo Markey (Editors, Star Wars: The Force Awakens; Academy Award® Nominees for Film Editing)

Neal Scanlan Special Effects Artist, Star Wars: The Force Awakens; Academy Award® Nominee for Visual Effects)

Daisy Ridley (Actress, Star Wars: The Force Awakens)

J.J. Abrams (Writer/Director, Star Wars: The Force Awakens)

Lenny Abrahamsson (Director, Room Academy Award® Nominee for Best Director)

Josh Singer (Writer, Spotlight; WGA Winner for Best Original Screenplay & Academy Award® Winner for Best Original Screenplay)

Tom McCarthy (Director, Spotlight; WGA Winner for Best Original Screenplay, Academy Award® Winner for Best Original Screenplay, DGA Nominee for Best Feature & Academy Award® Nominee for Best Director)


Matthew Ryan, Pollock Theater Director

Matthew Ryan is Director of the Pollock Theater where he pioneered the Pollock Theater Internship, which professionalizes students by developing production skills with hands-on experience. Ryan created and hosts the Script to Screen series, which has welcomed prestigious guests like Oscar® winning screenwriter John Ridley for 12 Years a Slave and Oscar® winning screenwriter Alan Ball for American Beauty.

Matthew Ryan began his career as a video librarian at the legendary Kaufman Astoria Studios. He became Associate Producer for Fox Movietone Newsreels putting together video packages for news stories. As Events Manager at New York University’s Cantor Film Center, he produced a series of film programs that included evenings with Martin Scorsese, Tim Robbins and Alec Baldwin. In 2008, he received an MFA in Screenwriting from Loyola Marymount University. His primary writing focus is science fiction and comedy.

UCSB Script to Screen is sponsored by the department of Film and Media Studies, The Carsey-Wolf Center, and The Scott Frank Fund for Screenwriting. It is hosted and executive-produced by the Pollock Theater Director, Matt Ryan, and produced by the Pollock Theater student staff.