Script to Screen on the Red Carpet: 2015 DGA & WGA

UCSB Script to Screen, hosted by Matt Ryan, was invited to the 2015 Directors Guild Awards and Writers Guild Awards. The talent included many Academy Award® Nominees and Winners.

George R. R. Martin – Author of the book series Fire And Ice – Game of Thrones

Chris Keyser – WGA President

Brian Kelley – WGA Winner for Best Animation Script

Jason Hall – WGA and Oscar® nominated Screenwriter for American Sniper

Damien Chazelle – WGA and Oscar® Nominated Writer/Director of Whiplash

Helen Estabrook – Oscar® Nominated Producer for Whiplash

E. Max Frye & Dan Futterman – WGA and Oscar® Nominated Screenwriters for Foxcatcher

Graham Moore – WGA and Oscar® winning Screenwriter for The Imitation Game

Paris Barclay – DGA President

Morten Tyldum – DGA and Oscar® Nominated Director of The Imitation Game


Matthew Ryan, Pollock Theater Director

Matthew Ryan is Director of the Pollock Theater where he pioneered the Pollock Theater Internship, which professionalizes students by developing production skills with hands-on experience. Ryan created and hosts the Script to Screen series, which has welcomed prestigious guests like Oscar® winning screenwriter John Ridley for 12 Years a Slave and Oscar® winning screenwriter Alan Ball for American Beauty.

Matthew Ryan began his career as a video librarian at the legendary Kaufman Astoria Studios. He became Associate Producer for Fox Movietone Newsreels putting together video packages for news stories. As Events Manager at New York University’s Cantor Film Center, he produced a series of film programs that included evenings with Martin Scorsese, Tim Robbins and Alec Baldwin. In 2008, he received an MFA in Screenwriting from Loyola Marymount University. His primary writing focus is science fiction and comedy.

UCSB Script to Screen is sponsored by the department of Film and Media Studies, The Carsey-Wolf Center, and The Scott Frank Fund for Screenwriting. It is hosted and executive-produced by the Pollock Theater Director, Matt Ryan, and produced by the Pollock Theater student staff.