Tuesday, March 1, 2016 - 7:00pm - 9:30pm
Pollock Theater, UCSB


World of Tomorrow (2015)

Screening format: DCP (17 Minutes)

Writer/Director: Don Hertzfeldt

Starring: Julia Pott, Winona Mae, and Sara Cushman

"We mustn't linger. It is easy to get lost in memories."

World of Tomorrow is the story of a little girl taken on a mind-bending tour of her distant future. The film received the Grand Jury Prize for Short Film at the 2015 Sundance Film Festival and is an Oscar® nominee for Best Animated Short Film.

Don Hertzfeldt is a two time Oscar®-nominated American independent filmmaker whose animated films include It's Such a Beautiful Day, The Meaning of Life, Billy's Balloon, and Rejected. His work has screened worldwide receiving over 250 awards, and he recently made a special guest appearance on The Simpsons. Seven of his films have been screened in competition at the Sundance Film Festival, where he is the only filmmaker to have won the overall Grand Jury Prize for Short Film twice.

The UCSB Script to Screen film presentation will be followed by a Q&A with filmmaker and UCSB Film and Media Studies alumnus Don Hertzfeldt.

There will be a post-discussion reception in the Michael Douglas lobby.

The UCSB Script to Screen series examines the screenplay and its transition to the screen from the perspective of writers, directors, producers, editors, and actors.

UCSB Script to Screen is sponsored by the department of Film and Media Studies, The Carsey-Wolf Center, and The Scott Frank Fund for Screenwriting. It is hosted and executive-produced by the Pollock Theater Director, Matt Ryan, and produced by the Pollock Theater student staff.

World of Tomorrow Official Trailer

Variety Film Review: ‘2016 Oscar-Nominated Short Films: Animation’ Don Hertzfeldt's World of Tomorrow is the clear class of a field that nonetheless yields many visual and emotional rewards.

The Atlantic - World of Tomorrow and the Copy - Pasted Brain

Don Hertzfeldt Filmography:   

World of Tomorrow (2015)

The Simpsons (2014)  ("couch gag" guest director)

It's Such a Beautiful Day (2012)  (feature film version)

It's Such a Beautiful Day (2011)

Wisdom Teeth (2010) 

I Am So Proud of You (2008)

Everything will be OK (2006)

The Meaning of Life (2005)

Rejected (2000)

Billy's Balloon (1998)  (student film)

Lily and Jim (1997)  (student film)

Genre (1996)  (student film)

Ah, L'Amour (1995)  (student film)  


Don Hertzfeldt, Animator/Writer/Director

Don Hertzfeldt is an Oscar®-nominated American independent filmmaker whose animated films have been critically acclaimed around the globe. His work has screened worldwide receiving over 250 awards. In 2001 Don Hertzfeldt was named one of the "Top 25 Directors to Watch" by Filmmaker Magazine, an honor not surprising given that he has created some of the most popular animated shorts of our time. As a college student, Hertzfeldt wrote and directed four animated shorts (one for each of his four years at UCSB) including: Ah, L’Amour (1995), Genre (1996), Lily and Jim (1997), and Billy’s Balloon (1998). Along with Hertzfeldt’s nomination for an Academy Award for his critically acclaimed animated short Rejected (2005), he has won 99 awards at film festivals for his films to date. Hertzfeldt also co-founded The Animation Show in 2003, a festival of animation that puts an unprecedented number of animated shorts into North American movie theaters.

Matthew Ryan, Pollock Theater Director

Matthew Ryan started his academic career at NYU to run the Cantor Film Center, where he produced a range of events from a screening and Q&A with Martin Scorsese to a media conference with then President Bill Clinton. In 2008, he received a MFA in screenwriting from Loyola Marymount University.

Now, he is director of the amazing Pollock Theater.  He pioneered the Pollock Theater Internship, which is a selective program offering industry-level experience to students interested in event planning and live TV production. The TV shows produced through this program have generated more than 10.6 million views on UCTV. Many of these episodes come from events in his own series, UCSB Script to Screen, including 12 Years a Slave with Oscar® winning screenwriter John Ridley and American Beauty with Oscar® winning screenwriter Alan Ball.