Traditionally, media and the environment have been framed as an opposition, contrasting the mediated and the natural world. The Carsey-Wolf Center’s research in environmental media takes a different approach. Fostering collaboration among environmental scientists, media scholars, and media producers, Carsey-Wolf’s environmental initiatives explore productive futures for environment and media. We study the ways in which media can be used to bring more people to understand and care about the natural world and our place in it.

 

 

 


 

current Initiatives:

Blue Horizons Summer Program for Environmental Media

Green Screen

Bren School SECM focus

 

Past Initiatives:

Environmental Media Initiative

Critical Issues in America: Figuring Sea Level Rise

Digital Ocean: Sampling the Sea

i (heart) h2o

 


 

Past Events:

2017 Greenscreen Student Premiere

Thursday, June 15, 2017

 

Water is LIfe: Standing With Standing Rock

Thursday, May 18, 2017 - 9:00am - Saturday, May 20, 2017

 

Sonic Sea

Thursday, July 28, 2016

 

2016 Blue Horizons Student Film Premiere

Friday, August 19, 2016

 

2016 Greenscreen Student Film Premiere

Thursday, June 9, 2016

 

Exploring & Filming the Ocean: A Conversation with Cinematographer Ian Kellett

Monday, April 4, 2016

 

This Changes Everything

Tuesday, November 17, 2015

 

Energy Efficiency in California's Low-Carbon Future

Monday, November 2, 2015

 

Climate Deadline, Paris 2015

Friday, October 9, 2015

 

2015 Blue Horizons Student Film Premiere

Friday, August 21, 2015

 

The Dark Side of the Ocean

Wednesday, July 22, 2015

 

2015 Greenscreen Student Film Premiere

Wednesday, June 10, 2015

 

Focus On: The Anthropocene

Racing Extinction

Thursday, March 12, 2015

 

Journey of the Universe

Thursday, February 19, 2015

 

Watermark

Thursday, January 15, 2015


return to CWC Research overview