Representation is the axis of media and democracy. Whether through networked social movements, artistic activism, or ink on ballots, the work of engaging in democracy is the work of engaging through mediated representations. The Carsey-Wolf Center’s research on media and democracy is committed to the study of media as a way of naming, engaging, and challenging formations of power in the contemporary world.

 

 

 

    photo credit: Ryan Vizzions


Annual Conference: Media in the Americas

Past Events:

 

Water Is Life: Standing with Standing Rock

Thursday, May 18 - Saturday, May 20, 2017

 

Trans Media series:

Raising Zoey with director Dante Alencastre

Thursday, May 4, 2017

 

Transparent with Amy Villarejo, Performing and Media Arts, Cornell University

Saturday, May 6, 2017

 

Free Cece with CeCe McDonald and director Jacqueline Gares 

Wednesday, May 10, 2017

 

Still Black: A Portrait of Black Transmen with director Kortney Ryan Ziegler

Tuesday, May 23, 2017

 

Tangerine with actress Mya Taylor

Thursday, May 25, 2017

 

Actors for Autism: Selections from the AFA 2016 Film Festival

Saturday, April 22, 2017

 

The Overnighters with director/cinematographer Jesse Moss

Wednesday, April 5, 2017

 

Workshop: Collaborative Public Art and the Overpass Light Brigade

Lane Hall, University of Wisconsin - Milwaukee

Tuesday, February 28, 2017

 

Starving The Beast with Lane Hall, University of Wisconsin - Milwaukee

Tuesday, February 28, 2017

 

Privilege with director Yvonne Rainer

Wednesday, January 25, 2017

 

The Look of Silence

Thursday, November 12, 2015

 

Marwencol with director Jeff Malmberg

Wednesday, November 4, 2015

 

Merchants of Doubt

Wednesday, May 13, 2015

 

Matt Shepard is a Friend of Mine

Thursday, April 23, 2015

 

Occupy the Farm

Tuesday, April 14, 2015

 

Citizenfour

Wednesday, March 4, 2015


 

return to CWC Research overview