Media, by nature, are global. The circulation of media across borders and the technologies that support international communication have long been tied to trends in globalization. As national borders and identities are subverted by transnational and postnational economic and political imperatives, the specificity of place can become blurred and incoherent.  But just as media can contribute to the erasure of distance, they can also reveal deep expressions of culture, identity, and place. The Carsey-Wolf Center’s research in global media is attuned to these tensions and committed to exploring the ways in which media can express culture and change our world.

 

 


 

Past Events:

Arab Film Festival: Best of Shorts Program

Wednesday, May 17, 2017

 

Cities of Sleep

Tuesday, February 21, 2017

 

Blaxploitalian

Wednesday, February 15, 2017

 

The Last Aristocrats

Tuesday, January 17, 2017

 

7 Islands and a Metro

Wednesday, November 16, 2016

 

Arabian Nights: Volume Three, the Enchanted One

Tuesday, October 25, 2016

 

Latino: The Changing Face of America

Wednesday, October 5, 2016

 

Under the Shadow

Thursday, September 29, 2016

 

Cemetery of Splendor

Thursday, May 26, 2016

 

The Wanted 18 with director Amer Shomali

Tuesday, April 26, 2016

 

La Revolucion de los Alcatraces

Thursday, April 21, 2016

 

Cairo Drive

Wednesday, March 9, 2016

 

J.C. Abbey: Ghana's Puppeteer

Tuesday, March 8, 2016

 

Tele-Talk: Dying to Cross: Immigration and Spanish-Language Television

Thursday, March 3, 2016

 

After Tahrir: Egyptian Insurgency Short Film Festival

Sunday, January 24, 2016

 



return to CWC Research overview