Tuesday, November 4, 2014 - 7:00pm - 10:00pm
Pollock Theater, UCSB
The Theory of Everything (2014)

Screening format: DCP (123 Minutes)

Director: James Marsh

Writers: Anthony McCarten (screenplay), Jane Hawking (book)

Starring: Eddie Redmayne, Felicity Jones, Tom Prior

"His mind changed our world. Her love changed his."

This is the extraordinary story of one of the world’s greatest living minds, the renowned astrophysicist Stephen Hawking, who falls deeply in love with fellow Cambridge student Jane Wilde. Once a healthy, active young man, Hawking received an earth-shattering diagnosis at 21 years of age. With Jane fighting tirelessly by his side, Stephen embarks on his most ambitious scientific work, studying the very thing he now has precious little of – time. Together, they defy impossible odds, breaking new ground in medicine and science, and achieving more than they could ever have dreamed.

Starring Eddie Redmayne in an Oscar®-winning performance as Stephen Hawking and Felicity Jones as Jane Hawking, The Theory of Everything earned five Oscar® nominations including Best Picture, Best Adapted Screenplay, Best Actress, Best Actor, and Best Orginal Score.

The UCSB Script to Screen is proud to be joined for a post-screening Q&A with Oscar® Nominees, producer Lisa Bruce and screenwriter/producer Anthony McCarten.

The UCSB Script to Screen series examines the screenplay and its transition to the screen from the perspective of writers, directors, producers, editors, and actors.

UCSB Script to Screen is sponsored by the department of Film and Media Studies, The Carsey-Wolf Center, and The Scott Frank Fund for Screenwriting. It is hosted and executive-produced by the Pollock Theater Director, Matt Ryan, and produced by the Pollock Theater student staff.

The Theory of Everything Trailer

The Theory of Everything Interview with Eddie Redmayne


Lisa Bruce, Producer

Lisa Bruce is a UCSB alum who has made a highly successful film career as a producer and production manager. She began her career by co-founding the production company Orenda Films before venturing into independent film production and producing telefilms for HBO such as Walkout (2006) and Mary and Martha (2013). Her producing credits include films such as Fighting (2009) and No Strings Attached (2011).

Lisa Bruce's work on The Theory of Everything (2014) has earned the film an Oscar® nomination as well as the Alexander Korda Award for Best British Film at the 2015 BAFTA awards.

Anthony McCarten, Screenwriter

Anthony McCarten is a New Zealand-born novelist, playwright, and filmmaker who wrote and helped produce the Oscar®-nominated film The Theory of Everything. He received international success for his play Ladies Night (1987), which remains New Zealand's most commercially successful play of all time as it continues to be featured worldwide. In 2007, Anthony wrote one of his most successful novels, Death of a Superhero, which he then adapted into a screenplay and executive produced. The film had its world at the Toronto Film Festival and US premiere at the Tribeca Film Festival.

McCarten is the dedicated producer who obtained the rights to Jane Hawking's biography, which served as the inspiration for The Theory of Everything. He won two BAFTA awards for Best British Film, which he shared with Lisa Bruce, and Best Adapted Screenplay.

Matthew Ryan, Pollock Theater Director

Matthew Ryan started his academic career at NYU to run the Cantor Film Center, where he produced a range of events from a screening and Q&A with Martin Scorsese to a media conference with then President Bill Clinton. In 2008, he received a MFA in screenwriting from Loyola Marymount University.

Now, he is director of the amazing Pollock Theater.  He pioneered the Pollock Theater Internship, which is a selective program offering industry-level experience to students interested in event planning and live TV production. The TV shows produced through this program have generated more than 10.6 million views on UCTV. Many of these episodes come from events in his own series, UCSB Script to Screen, including 12 Years a Slave with Oscar®-winner John Ridley and American Beauty with Oscar®-winning screenwriter Alan Ball.