Saturday, February 14, 2015 - 5:00pm - 8:00pm
Los Angeles


UCSB Script to Screen, hosted by Matt Ryan, was invited to the 2015 Directors Guild Awards and Writers Guild Awards. The talent included many Academy Award® Nominees and Winners.

George R. R. Martin - Author of the book series Fire And Ice - Game of Thrones

Chris Keyser - WGA President

Brian Kelley - WGA Winner for Best Animation Script

Jason Hall - WGA and Oscar® nominated Screenwriter for American Sniper

Damien Chazelle - WGA and Oscar® Nominated Writer/Director of Whiplash

Helen Estabrook - Oscar® Nominated Producer for Whiplash

E. Max Frye & Dan Futterman - WGA and Oscar® Nominated Screenwriters for Foxcatcher

Graham Moore - WGA and Oscar® winning Screenwriter for The Imitation Game

Paris Barclay - DGA President

Morten Tyldum - DGA and Oscar® Nominated Director of The Imitation Game

The UCSB Script to Screen series examines the screenplay and its transition to the screen from the perspective of writers, directors, producers, editors, and actors.

UCSB Script to Screen is sponsored by the department of Film and Media Studies, The Carsey-Wolf Center, and The Scott Frank Fund for Screenwriting. It is hosted and executive-produced by the Pollock Theater Director, Matt Ryan, and produced by the Pollock Theater student staff.


Matthew Ryan, Pollock Theater Director

Matthew Ryan started his academic career at NYU to run the Cantor Film Center, where he produced a range of events from a screening and Q&A with Martin Scorsese to a media conference with then President Bill Clinton. In 2008, he received a MFA in screenwriting from Loyola Marymount University.

Now, he is director of the amazing Pollock Theater.  He pioneered the Pollock Theater Internship, which is a selective program offering industry-level experience to students interested in event planning and live TV production. The TV shows produced through this program have generated more than 10.6 million views on UCTV. Many of these episodes come from events in his own series, UCSB Script to Screen, including 12 Years a Slave with Oscar® winning screenwriter John Ridley and American Beauty with Oscar® winning screenwriter Alan Ball.